Featured Posts

Who are we?


The International CCN Society (ICCNS) was created in 2001 after the First International Workshop on the CCN Family of Genes held in St Malo, 17-19 October, 2000.

The ICCNS welcomes you. 

Tweet #ICCNSpresident

Six regulatory proteins involved in cell communication and signaling were originally designated by the CCN acronym [for Cystein-rich protein (Cyr61), Connective tissue growth factor (CTGF), and Nephroblastoma overexpressed (nov)]. They are involved in fundamental biological processes such as cell adhesion and migration, angiogenesis, development and signaling in normal and pathological conditions.

The official unified nomenclature adopted by the HGNC (Perbal B, Tweedie S, Bruford E. (2019) calls for the use of the acronyms, CCN1-6, and discontinuation in the use of CYR61, CTGF, NOV and WISP 1-3 respectively. [J Cell Commun Signal. (2018) 4:625-629]

It is important that both research teams who are newcomers and leaders in this field meet on a regular basis to discuss future prospects and unify their efforts in order for the CCN field to become highly interactive. The main goal of the International CCN Society is to foster the gathering of scientists interested in cell communication and signaling. Every other year since 2000, the ICCNS has organized the International Workshops on the CCN family of genes, open to PhD students, Post Docs and PIs . These meetings have been acclaimed by all attendees who appreciated this family-type of meeting which provides a unique opportunity for young ones to meet leaders and building collaborations at all levels. It has recently been proposed that other families of regulatory factors participating in cell communication and signaling be considered as CCN proteins at large [Perbal B et al. J. Cell. Commun. Signal. (2023) 17:229-232].


The main goals of the society are to:

  • Provide comprehensive information related to the field of the CCN genes and proteins.
  • Facilitate and organize the CCN workshops and other related meetings.
  • Facilitate and promote the distribution of reagents among the CCN community.
  • Promote contacts with others scientific societies.
  • Provide a forum for discussion and interaction.
  • Promote the dissemination of scientific information through the publication of the Journal of Cell Communication and Signaling.


The International CCN Society is a non-profit association.

The Executive Board of the International CCN Society is in charge of the representation, and administration of the ICCNS. It is the interlocutor for JCCS and International meetings affairs. 

It is comprised of:

The President and Treasurer of the ICCNS are permanent members of the Council and Advisory Scientific Committee.

The Council of the International CCN Society is acting as an advisory committee to help the executive board in taking decisions regarding the scientific organization of the Society. It is in charge of promoting the scientific connections between the ICCNS and other scientific, medical and pharmaceutical societies worldwide, and participate to the widening of the ICCNS expertise.

The Council reports to the ICCNS Executive Board.

Members of the Council include


The Advisory Scientific Committee of the International CCN Society is in charge of proposing and reviewing the operations of the ICCNS from a scientific angle. 

Satoshi KUBOTA has been nominated President of the Advisory Scientific Committee, starting October, 15th, 2023. He will be assisted by Milos MARINKOVIC

After consultations with members of the ICCNS, and in order to initiate contacts and stimulate interactions between the ICCNS and other scientific societies, the President of the Executive Board have commissioned the following colleagues who kindly accepted to act as active members of the Advisory Scientific Committee:

Havard ATTRAMADAL, Rob BAXTER, Celina KLEER, Zhiyong LIN, Kunimasa OHTA, and Katia SCOTLANDI

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership is offered to distinguished individuals who have made highly recognized contributions to the scientific community.

Members of the ICCNS Council can recommend candidates for this prestigious type of membership, on the basis of outstanding research activity or exceptional leadership.

Nominations will be examined by members of the ICCNS Council and external advisors who will be selected by the President of the ICCNS. The Honorary members are invited by the President of the ICCNS.

In recognition of the important commitments and contributions made to the benefit of the ICCNS, the workshops, and to the CCN field of science, we are very pleased to recognize Lester LAU and David BRIGSTOCK with an honorary lifetime membership, starting Jan 2020, with all intended benefits of membership in the ICCNS

Honorary Membership is also offered by the President of ICCNS to all Recipients of the ICCNS Award.


Professor Paul Bornstein (2008-2013), Professor Edward Calabrese, Professor Robert Baxter, Professor Carlo Croce, Professor Judith Campisi , Professor Meenhard Herlyn, Professor Cynthia Kenyon, Professor Lester Lau, Professor Katia Scotlandi